An Extraordinary Meeting of the Council will be held on Tuesday 8th August at 8 pm.

There will be a Parish Council Saturday Surgery at 10.30 a.m. on the morning of 19th August 2017. Residents are welcome to come along to the Village Library to discuss any matter of concern.

Your Councillors:-


Cllr Mandy Mickelsen - Chairman -  Public Rights of Way

Mandy is an Arts graduate and Chartered Public Sector accountant. She has lived with her husband in the village for over 30 years, and brought up two children here.

Retired from paid employment now, Mandy has been a Councillor since 2007.

She was heavily involved in the production of the Village Design Statement and the Parish Plan; is now on the Planning Committee and is Chair of the Finance Committee. Mandy also has responsibility on the Council for Public Rights of Way.


Cllr Ian Wardrop - Vice Chairman
Community Speedwatch Coordinator

Ian joined the Council in 2013. He has lived in the village since 1984 and in 2005 retired early after many years working for one of London's largest public sector organisations. He is currently a trustee of a small charity in Braintree. He can often be seen walking the family's rescue lurcher in and around the village. As well as Speedwatch Coordinator, Ian has responsibility for Highways Liaison and is a member of the Planning Committee.


Cllr Henry Bass - Highways/Essex Police Liason

Henry has lived locally all his life, he was elected to the Parish Council in 1976, has been Chairman on several occasions and has a particular interest in planning matters and an active member of the village hall committee for 34 years. His responsibilities are Highways and Essex Police Liaison.


Cllr Iain MacGregor - Amenities & Highways

Iain is a Chartered Loss Adjusterand Company Director.  He joined the Parish Council in 2008. He has held various positions within the Council and currently sits on the Planning and Finance Committees.



Cllr Peter Bates - Website Manager & Publicity

Peter joined the Council in May 2012. He has lived in Wickham Bishops for over 25 years and recently retired from the position of I T Manager at a local secondary school. His specific areas of responsibility are to maintain and develop the Parish Council website, and to publicise and report on Council activity.


Cllr Stephen Nicholas - Highways and Environment

Stephen has lived in Wickham Bishops for 18 years. After many years working in banking and insurance in London, he worked in the criminal justice system. Since 2013, Stephen has held voluntary roles with the Essex Retired Police Dogs Fund, and the Essex Search And Rescue team.


Cllr Richard Mundell



One Vacancy




Cllr Jane Williams - Neighbourhood Plan, Footpaths, BHSA

Jane has a Zoology dgree, an M.A. in Education Management and an MSc in Animal Welfare.  She has been employed in the education sector, and has been a consultantsince 2001, both in education and now as an animal behaviourist and trainer.

Jane joined the Council in May 2017.  She has lived in the village since 1993.  In the early days of living in Wickham Bishops, Jane was the Neighbourhood Watch coordinator for the village and chaired the Maldon District meetings for seven years.  More recently, she has become chair of the steering group which is developing the Neighbourhood Plan.




Parish Council Clerk - Liane Rowland

Liane runs the Toddler group in Hatfield Peverel although she lives on the Wickham Bishops border with Great Totham, having moved here in 2011. Liane is an Engineering graduate, with an automotive, IT and telecoms development background.

Liane can often be seen walking her children to Great Totham Primary School and to nursery in Wickham Bishops.

She may be contacted by telephone on 07542 190176 or




The Register of Member's Interests  (Maldon District Council Website)